Author Topic: Glasgow curry base sauce  (Read 5650 times)

Offline bigboaby1

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
Glasgow curry base sauce
« on: January 08, 2013, 01:09 AM »
Hi i've been working in my local takeaway now for about 6 months helping to prep most of the sauces and marinades..It differs quite a lot from the curry's from England where they tend to go for ghrabi and mix powder which i've used for years ...Below is their base sauce which is packed with full of flavor..There is also a marinade for the chicken they use which is cooked with oil and spices..no water...I don't think there is any base sauce like this on the site that i have seen

What you are actually doing is making on big pot of curry sauce that you can eat on it's own without
adding any other ingredient mix powder etc..To eat Ghrabi on it's own for instance can taste bland after
adding all that water killing all the flavour hence the mix powder and other ingredients to try and get flavour back into it...With my base sauce this is not required

My motto is keep things simple..

alexwilkie12@yahoo.co.uk...

Don't be put of by the amount of onions...It wont work otherwise

A POT THAT WILL HOLD 7 killo of onions
2 LITRES OF WATER..DEPENDS ON SIZE OF POT
HALF CHEF CORIANDER SEEDS
HALF CHEF CUMIN SEEDS
HALF CHEF SPOON METHI LEAVES
1 CHEF spoon turmeric
HALF CHEF SPOON GARAM MASALA
1 TABLE SPOON RED CHILLI....ADDS COLOUR TO YOUR SAUCE
1/2 CHEF SPOON SALT
1/2 CHEF SUGAR
1/2 CHEF SPOON GARLIC GINGER PASTE
1 CHEF SPOON TOMATOE PUREE
BLOCK COCONUT CREAM
2 LITRE VEGY OIL

METHOD

STEP 1.. FINELY CHOP ONIONS AND FILL TO RIGHT ABOVE THE POT
STEP 2..ADD CORIANDER SEEDS AND CUMIN SEEDS
STEP 3...FILL HALF THE POT WITH WATER TURN ON GAS TO HIGH AND COOK ONIONS UNTIL THEY REDUCE
COULD TAKE ABOUT HOUR HALF OR LONGER
STEP 4...ONCE REDUCED ADD 2 LITRES VEGETABLE OIL ALONG WITH ALL THE OTHER INGREDIENTS
COOK ON A SIMMER FOR ABOUT HOUR AND HALF