Author Topic: lost photos  (Read 6023 times)

Offline Geoffbrick

• Head Chef
    • View Profile
lost photos
« on: October 04, 2015, 08:09 AM »
Morning all.
  Have been upgraded to Windows10 from Windows 7,have lost all iTunes and photos for uploading.Has anyone any info on Windows10 or the "knowledge",hope I can get some of photos back from the SD card,some strange system this.
 Help appreciated
   Cheers. Geoffbrick

Online Peripatetic Phil

• Genius Curry Master
  • Contributing member
    • View Profile
Re: lost photos
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2015, 08:43 AM »
Sorry, can't be of any immediate help, Geoff.  Once I discovered that, having been downloaded, Windows 10 would give me the option of installing today, tomorrow or the day after, but at no other time, I took immediate steps to rid my machine of all traces of it and its installer.  I have no knowledge of I-tunes whatsoever, but as regards your lost photographs I would recommend (if Windows 10 in any way resembles Windows 7) launching "Pictures" (or "My Pictures"), initiating a search for "filename:*.jpg" (or "filename:*.cr2", or whatever extension your camera generates for photographs), and when it has completed, using the "Search again in ..." option to select "Computer" to allow it to search your whole file-system.  Once it completes on that, change from "Details" view (if that is your default) to "Large icons" view or "Extra large icons" view, and that should enable you to identify the images for which you are seeking if they are Jpegs or similar.  "(Extra) large icons" view cannot see inside CR2 files (which are not native to Windows), so you would need to open such files individually or (e.g.,) in Adobe Bridge in order to inspect their content.

** Phil.

Offline Naga

• Elite Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2015, 10:05 AM »