Welcome, guest! Please login or register.

Author Topic: JB's chicken madras  (Read 7264 times)

Offline Smartsavage

• Trainee Chef
Re: JB's chicken madras
« Reply #10 on: November 08, 2014, 09:16 AM »
Total novice here asking what I guess maybe a silly question but what are the quantities of coriander and methi?
(As taught on my recent cookery lessons)

Ingredients
---------------

pre cooked chicken(http://www.curry-recipes.co.uk/curry/index.php?topic=4972.0)
2 ladles of Base sauce(http://www.curry-recipes.co.uk/curry/index.php?topic=4909.0)
1 tablespoon Mix Powder(http://www.curry-recipes.co.uk/curry/index.php?topic=4908.0)
1 ladle of spiced oil
1 tablespoon garlic/ginger paste
1 teaspoon chili powder
Coriander
lemon juice
dried methi leaves
pinch of salt

Heat pan on a medium heat and add the oil and ginger/garlic paste.Stir around briefly and then add the mix powder,chili,salt and methi leaves.Also add at this stage 1/2 ladle of base sauce to stop it burning.Cook this for a couple of minutes.Then add the chicken and the rest of the base sauce.Leave until the chicken is cooked through,add the lemon juice and finish with coriander.

The chef told me a basic chicken curry is exactly the same recipe minus the lemon and chili powder.Nothing more....I was surprised at this but he was quite adamant that only these two ingredients are added for a madras.Furthermore a vindaloo is the same apart from more chili and some pre cooked potato.He seemed to think it was quite amusing that I thought there should be some secret ingredient to go from a basic curry to a madras!!! By the way I used fresh lemon but in his restaurant he uses a bottled lemon dressing.

Online Peripatetic Phil

• CONTRIBUTING MEMBER
  • Jedi Curry Master
  • A closed mind is a would-be chef's worse enemy.
    • Poems for Charity
« Reply #11 on: November 08, 2014, 10:01 AM »
Total novice here asking what I guess maybe a silly question but what are the quantities of coriander and methi?