Author Topic: MARTIN'S ASHOKA MADRAS  (Read 17070 times)

Offline Martinwhynot

• Senior Chef
    • View Profile
MARTIN'S ASHOKA MADRAS
« on: August 08, 2010, 09:03 PM »
Hi everyone,

Despite the paucity of posts on this site I have been cooking restaurant style curries for around 20 years - always searching for the classic Scottish style curries, I was immensely impressed with Panposts offerings. I gather there has been a shout for a madras for this style - here's mine. It replicates the Scottish curry experience (Punjabi, not Bangladeshi) very well indeed.

3 TBS oil
1 TBS Ashoka garlic/ginger paste
3 TBS Ashoka Bunjara paste
1 TBS Tomato Puree
1 heaped tsp chili
base sauce (I use the Taz base but any decent one will not overpower the bunjara, which is a key flavour).
lge pinch methi
lge pinch garam masala
about 1/2 tsp lemon juice
lge pinch coriander

Heat the oil.
Add the above in order, when cooking nicely add base sauce a little at a time until you've added around 240 mls (that's 6 chef's spoons!)
about half way through add the methi and the pre-cooked meat/chicken to heat it through.
Stir in coriander
Serve. 

(as a guide you're aiming to have a total of approx 280-300ml of bunjara/base mixed together and cooked through).

This gives you what you'd get in a Central Scotland Indian restaurant - if you adapt it to suit what 'you think it needs' you'll alter the results you get.  Would like to hear of adaptations from those who understand the difference between this style and the style that dominates England and Wales (which is excellent but different).

Happy cooking.

Martin

Offline Stephen Lindsay

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
Re: MARTIN'S ASHOKA MADRAS
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2010, 09:18 PM »
cheers for that Martin - I have my pal coming through from Edinburgh next month for a curry night and as he is a Madras-head I will give this a go.

Offline gazman1976

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2010, 09:18 PM »