Author Topic: Tenderising Chicken  (Read 25651 times)

Offline markt01

• Chef
    • View Profile
Tenderising Chicken
« on: November 19, 2012, 05:36 PM »
Hi there, I am quite new to the home Indian Restaurant style cooking, I have been practising a little and trying to pick tips up along the way, I am a very competent cook but when it comes to BIR I have alot to learn!!

My question is regarding the tenderising of chicken, how do they get it silky soft to the mouth as well as marinate it.

If anyone can help would be great to hear, many thanks,

From Newbie Mark wannabe Indian chef

Offline Stephen Lindsay

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
Re: Tenderising Chicken
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 05:45 PM »
Mark

I tend to cook my chicken as I go, i.e. not pre-cook it, but I think the technique you are looking for is along the lines of slowly cooking it in a spiced water with no pre-frying. On the rare occasions that I do this I just gently simmer in some base and stir or turn the chicken to ensure even cooking.

The secret I guess is just to cook it enough that it's not raw, but not overly so and you end up with stringy chicken. I'm sure others will maybe give you more specific suggestions that will be worth following.

Hope this helps.

Offline Peripatetic Phil

• Genius Curry Master
  • Contributing member
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 19, 2012, 05:55 PM »
Wasn't it Abdul Mohed who told us that, in his experience, most BIR's use one or two special imported brands of South American chicken ?  That may play a part in it.

(Updated) -- No, it was Ifindforu.  I don't think we ever got to the bottom of whether "Murg[h]ee" was a brand or simply a female bird, but Sadia was the Brazilian brand of which he wrote.  These were my last comments on the names he used :

the type of chicken used in BIR dishes is Murgee brand chicken as this stays soft for longer, and sardia or noble chicken for chicken tikka