Author Topic: Blanching Onions  (Read 3952 times)

Offline johnboy

• Chef
    • View Profile
Blanching Onions
« on: September 15, 2006, 03:53 PM »
I have read recently that onions should be blanched in boiling water for several minutes befor using them to make a curry. Seemingly this removes the sharp acidity smell and taste.

Anyone any comments on this, is it necessary?

Offline Yousef

• Elite Curry Master
  • Curry Recipes Site Owner
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
Re: Blanching Onions
« Reply #1 on: September 15, 2006, 08:37 PM »
Hi Johnboy,

Welcome to the fourm,

I have never used this method before for the base sauce, most of the Curry Base Sauce recipes on the site involve long periods of boiling the onions which also will removes the acidity etc etc

If you are using onions directly in your final curry, sometimes i just fry them off first in a small bit of base sauce, put them to one side and then add in to the curry during the final cooking, when required.

Anyway good luck and let us know how you get on....

Stew 8)

Offline DARTHPHALL

• Elite Curry Master
  • CONTRIBUTING MEMBER
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: September 15, 2006, 10:01 PM »
If i add Onions to a final dish i also give them a quick fry until slightly Golden. :)

Offline George

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 15, 2006, 10:15 PM »
most of the Curry Base Sauce recipes on the site involve long periods of boiling the onions which also will removes the acidity etc etc

I may be wrong, but I would not expect acidity to disappear, no matter how long you boil the onions for in a base sauce, unless you throw away the water, as in simple blanching.  That's the logic behind adding a bit of bicarbonate of soda, as it chemically neutralises the acid.

Regards
George

Offline Ashes

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2006, 06:56 AM »
This is a tricky one.. there is a raw sharp taste associated with onions.