Author Topic: Grinding seeds  (Read 8807 times)

Offline Lee989

• Chef
    • View Profile
Grinding seeds
« on: October 23, 2013, 09:24 PM »
I'm a little new to cooking with spices, and for my first attempt at a curry, i chose CA's Madras along with his base and spice mix. The spice mix calls for a lot of powder's, most of which i managed to get in either asda's own brand (apart from the shwartz fenugreek powder).

However no where local seems to have ground cardamom. Even an online search yields no pre-ground cardamom results apart from a forum topic related to a single online store (spice of india or something).

I've found three methods of making my own powder, one is to buy a spice grinder, another to get a mortar and pastle, and a method of using a rolling pin and granulated sugar.

What would you advise me to get (i cant afford some of the more expensive kit i've seen mentioned so far, such as ?100 grinder, which whilst im sure is worth it's weight in cardamom, it's a little too much given i've not made my first curry yet). Or, do i just not bother grinding them at all? (not sure if i would have the sieve them out later though, or do they break down into the gravy?

Side note: Just for the sake of not creating another post or asking another question elsewhere, could you also tell me... The CA recipe calls for fresh tomatoes as opposed to the chopped tomatoes of a lot of others i see. Should i de-seed/de-pulp the tomatoes before using them? Should i skin them before using them? I imagine there will be a decent number of seeds which will be left in the base, and likewise i imagine unskinned tomatoes will end up leaving there skins in the base as i doubt my stick blender will blend them to a point they aren't noticeable (not that ive tried, i just don't expect it too be able to blend that finely). Maybe the secret is that you sieve the base after it's made and its just so common knowledge to most on here, that CA never mentioned that part?