Author Topic: Chicken tikka dhansak courtesy of CBM  (Read 31309 times)

Online curryhell

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
Chicken tikka dhansak courtesy of CBM
« on: November 05, 2013, 10:00 PM »
I'm no expert on this dish but i'm sure there's someone out there who is. As with many dishes there are regional variations as well as a chef's own interpretation of a dish.  I have sampled a spoonful of friends' dhansak dishes while dining out at different restaurants which gives me an idea of what to expect based on my samplings.  But one thing i do know is a tasty dish when I eat one, whatever it might be called.  And this dish from CBM delivers just that - flavour in quantity and with plenty of depth.  Maybe one of the  dhansak experts on the site who actually cooks rather than just comments, would care to try it and then provide some constructive feedback. 
CBM has put up two videos on dhansak, one from Little India and the other from the Fatima restaurant.  The recipe i used to make my dish the other night is from CBM's second e-book (and no i'm not on commission  ;D).  I would say that the Little India recipe has a lot in common.
Anyway, the ingredients without giving too much away;

In went the spices, sugar, tomato paste and lemon juice for the initial singing followed up by half the base and a good heaped chef's of pre-cooked lentils.  Looks pretty thin here but it was in fact nearing the end of the first reduction  :o

So in then went the remainder of the base, the chopped pineapple followed by the tikka

Heat down and now left to simmer until reaching the right consistancy with the coriander being added just at the end of cooking.  The end result:

Again, looks quite fluid but in reality, the dhal hides the thickness of the sauce as the close ups show:

Decided to have these with it rather than rice, just for a change:

So here it is ready to serve:

The lighting for some reason made the dish look a shade darker in the last two pics: