Author Topic: 7 Week BIR Course - What would you include?  (Read 10299 times)

Offline bmouthboyo

• Senior Chef
    • View Profile
7 Week BIR Course - What would you include?
« on: March 15, 2014, 03:23 PM »
As a little community help at my local youth centre I will hopefully running a short 7 week course that I have pitched as 'Curry Club' and will be teaching 12 to 18 year olds how the basics I learnt of BIR cooking. I am no expert by any means but thought it might be a fun thing to try with a group of upto 10 people, working in pairs.

I hope to go over creating a base gravy, the different spice mix's, the main dishes and the fundamentals of cooking BIR curry. This is no expert class by any stretch of the imagination so I do not need to worry about too finer details.

I was wondering if you guys could recommend any pointers on what might be good ideas to cover over the 7, 45minute sessions.

So far my initial outline would be:
  • Familiarise with different spices, Spice mixes / massalas, ingredients used etc.
  • Base gravies, the main BIR dishes
  • Releasing oils in spices, burner control, preparing ingredients
  • Cooking main dishes (Korma, Madras, Pathia, Vindaloo, Jalfrezi)
  • Experimenting with base / dishes
  • Side dishes (Alou Gobi, Dhals, Roti)

Unfortunately all we have access to are portable burners. No ovens or microwave.

Any help much appreciated, Cheers.

« Last Edit: March 15, 2014, 03:43 PM by bmouthboyo »

Offline Peripatetic Phil

• Genius Curry Master
  • Contributing member
    • View Profile
Re: 7 Week BIR Course - What would you include?
« Reply #1 on: March 15, 2014, 04:47 PM »