Author Topic: 3rd Anniversary  (Read 3898 times)

Offline Stephen Lindsay

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
3rd Anniversary
« on: August 05, 2010, 12:29 AM »
OK so the site says it's just gone 11pm "local time" - whatever that means. But here in Dundee it's just gone midnight which I have just realised, is 3 years to the day since I joined the forum. I am not a prolific poster of messages, or of recipes but I try to contribute where I can and have learned more from this site in 3 years than in the previous 30.

So, what have I learned?

Well, in no particular order, the following things struck me as new information at the time.

1. The use off-the-shelf pastes (e.g. Pataks) by takeaways both surprised and disappointed me.

2. The prevalence in the use of precooked meats struck me as both necessary (e.g. lamb) and unnecessary (e.g. chicken).

3. That the number of spices required to make a decent BIR curry is quite small.

4. That other ingredients that I had hitherto been using regularly in curries, e.g. cassia and cinnamon, fennel, cardamom are used infrequently in BIR curries.

5. That I still can't replicate a decent naan bread, regardless of the recipe and heating the oven to full - I really must build a tandoor one day.

6. That I can pretty much visualise what goes into most standard curries on the takeaway menu without resorting to opening a recipe book.

7. That I can knock up a damn fine curry (IMHO).

8. That I am not the only curry egghead on the block but also that I have managed to keep my interest in curries fairly grounded.

9. That there is no real secret ingredient.

10. That some people haven't yet made it to 9.

But if I could single out one or two highlights from the site I think it would be the Ashoka recipes posted by Panpot. Being Scottish I know the quality of the food that Ashoka turns out both in Glasgow where it originated but also here in Dundee. Panpot's posts were truly memorable and the recipes produce utterly wonderful curries.