Author Topic: The ABC of Balti  (Read 33695 times)

Offline Malc.

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
The ABC of Balti
« on: February 26, 2011, 11:36 PM »
ABC being the Authentic Balti Curry book I have recently purchased. Am I pleased, you bet! The following dishes being my first attempts to create recipes in this book.

The first thing I had to overcome was how much Cassia Bark to use in the base, which I decided was measured by imagining a small piece of bark snapped from a larger piece. I am happy with this as the balance of flavour in the base is good, though I freely admit I am no expert in these matters.

The next thing I had to sort out was a lack of Javentry (Mace) and Asian Bay in my spice cupboard. So of I went to a local Indian store a friend had recently recommended to me. Well what a Mecca this place turned out to be. It stocks everything your average BIR chef wannabe needs. So at the same time, I managed to stock up on several other things I had been missing, like Panch Phoran and Brown Cardamon, as well as topping up on others.

With time fast running away I had to crack on and started creating the base, Which in the ABC is done in two parts. First is the slow cook of the onion and veg and then the cook out of the spices with tinned tomato. My intention was to cook Chicken Tikka Balti but due to time, I chose to pre-cook my chicken in the tomato/spice sauce. Yes I know, it wasn't following the ABC, but I can say it worked very well.