Author Topic: Best pilau rice recipe?  (Read 14956 times)

Offline natterjak

• Elite Curry Master
    • View Profile
Best pilau rice recipe?
« on: April 25, 2011, 08:03 PM »
Total beginner question but can someone point me to the "best" (most reliable & easiest) pilau rice recipe around these parts?   I can see several when I search the forum, just wondering which should be my starting point?

Online martinvic

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
Re: Best pilau rice recipe?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2011, 01:10 AM »
Hi Chris

I now always use the RobinB one here http://www.curry-recipes.co.uk/curry/index.php?topic=2118.0

Works every time for me, just follow it accurately re the timings.

Martin

Offline natterjak

• Elite Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2011, 08:38 AM »
Thanks Martin. Does the carrot add much to thus recipe do y ou think, or can it be left out without detracting too much from the end result?

I think i read Phil saying that once cooked pilau can be frozen but just wondering if defrosting it makes it soggy?  Might have to try that myself.

Online Peripatetic Phil

• Genius Curry Master
  • Contributing member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 26, 2011, 09:10 AM »
I think i read Phil saying that once cooked pilau can be frozen but just wondering if defrosting it makes it soggy?
No, that was someone else (or the other Phil !) -- in my experience, freezing pilau rice can result in the grains fracturing, so when you re-heat the rice is less attractive and the texture is not as good, but others disagreed.

** Phil.

Online martinvic

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 26, 2011, 02:07 PM »
Hi Chris

I haven't tried it with the grated carrot, I just used the original recipe (first post).

Oh and I didn't have Fennel seeds, so I added about a quarter tsp of cumin seeds, and I now add a couple of those Indian Bay leaves too. ;)