Author Topic: My 1st post  (Read 6620 times)

Offline d14ryl

• Chef
    • View Profile
My 1st post
« on: November 20, 2005, 12:35 AM »
Hi all.

This is the first time i have posted on the site although i have been browsing it for a couple of months or so. My aim at the end of the day is like most people to re-create BIR style curries (madras and vindaloo minus the potato). I am going to need support in reaching my goal as i am novice in the kitchen. I am 22 and haven't gained any skills at cooking from scratch throughout my life so this will be an achievement if i get it right. I'll probably post again in the next few days or so when i get all my ingredients together to ask for some advice if thats ok. Thins that are a pain for me is that my mum also doesn't cook from scratch a lot so we are missing equipment such as a blender.....will this make the job of making a BIR style curry extremely difficult when it comes to making a base sauce for example? For now i thought i would attach a pic of a curry (ch. vindaloo) that i had tonight from a restaurant in Edinburgh. As a lot of people have experienced, the vindaloo i had tonight was different from that served on other occasions, this one tasted like it had a lot more garlic through it than usual and was ever so slightly milder. Hopefully i can get mine looking something like this

Offline DeeDee

• Senior Chef
    • View Profile
Re: My 1st post
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2005, 03:52 AM »
Hello and welcome fellow newbie!

Apart from a cheery hello all I was going to say is that I'd be sunk without the blender.  The "wise ones" may know better than me but I think it's a "must have item".

Cheers!

DeeDee

Offline Mark J

• Elite Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2005, 09:05 AM »
Hi Folks,