Author Topic: My first curry base (and now first homemade BIR curry)  (Read 4661 times)

Offline stevej

• Chef
    • View Profile
My first curry base (and now first homemade BIR curry)
« on: November 20, 2005, 06:34 PM »
Hello there,

this is my first attempt at a curry base. I used a slightly modified version of the KD base, and the Cracked It base.

Firstly I boiled red onions garlic and ginger unpeeled for 45 mins. This produced a blood red sweet smelling liquid that was very bitter in taste ( shown in second picture, also in first picture - top right hob)

I then peeled the onions and garlic but left the ginger unpeeled. I deep fried the boiled onions for 15 mins until caramilised, I then added the garlic and chopped ginger, plus half a stick of cinamon and three slices of lemon and continued feep frying for 5 minutes  ;D ;D ;D.

From then on, I pretty much followed the instructions for the 'Cracked It' base, but used the red onion/ginger/garlic stock instead of water.

The jug contains my skimmed spice oil which I plan to reuse. (there was alot more once I had completely finished skimming, I took the pictures early on and simmered for around 45mins)

I shall be using the base tommorrow to make my first BIR curry. I will let you know what the end result tastes like. Going by the smell and taste of the base I can't wait  ;)

« Last Edit: November 21, 2005, 08:44 PM by stevej »

Offline Yellow Fingers

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
Re: My first curry base
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2005, 08:43 PM »
You boiled the onions and then fried them? What made you do it this way, as it would normally be done the other way round?

Offline Curry King

• I've Had Way Too Much Curry
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2005, 09:08 PM »
Nice pics, does look red  :)

Let us know how the curry turns out, there was a red onion base i've seen before was it "X" from in2curry, some boiled onion paste that went in with it?

Offline stevej

• Chef