Author Topic: Adding powdered spice  (Read 9427 times)

Offline pat_mustard

• Junior Chef
    • View Profile
Adding powdered spice
« on: November 19, 2012, 10:54 AM »
Hi all,
I'm pretty new to all this and have been given different advise on how to add the powdered spices. A lot of what I've read tells you to add the powdered spices dry but I've also been told that the best way is to mix them with water first to prevent them burning . Anyone got any thoughts on which way gives the best results .

Offline Peripatetic Phil

• Genius Curry Master
  • Contributing member
    • View Profile
Re: Adding powdered spice
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 11:04 AM »
Hi all,
I'm pretty new to all this and have been given different advise on how to add the powdered spices. A lot of what I've read tells you to add the powdered spices dry but I've also been told that the best way is to mix them with water first to prevent them burning . Anyone got any thoughts on which way gives the best results .

I think that the key is to add them (dry) to cold oil in a cold pan (assuming that you intended to bhoon them), then raise the temperature gently, keep them in motion, and be ready to quench them with either a ladle or less of base or a mixture of tomato puree and water (1:2) when you need to arrrest the cooking.  The quenching should take place when there had been a colour change, gas is being given off, and there is a pleasant smell of roast spices coming from the pan; smoke is a definite sign that you have possible gone too far ... !

** Phil.

Offline pat_mustard

• Junior Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 21, 2012, 12:07 PM »
Thanks for the reply Phil, not sure what you mean by "bhoon them" though.

Offline Peripatetic Phil

• Genius Curry Master
  • Contributing member
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 22, 2012, 12:33 PM »
Thanks for the reply Phil, not sure what you mean by "bhoon them" though.