Author Topic: Hi from newbie also help needed.  (Read 4720 times)

Offline Dai Dhansak

• Chef
    • View Profile
Hi from newbie also help needed.
« on: September 16, 2006, 07:21 PM »
Hello ;D ? to all members of this great site. I actually found it by accident while googling for onion base, it was the best accident I have had. You have all inspired me to get on the curry train and start to make my own. I have been browsing the site over the last couple of weeks and since have bought some spices to get started; I have never done anything like this before so I am a complete beginner. This afternoon I plucked up the courage to have a go at the curry base done by Ifindfora ?A Good Curry Base?, it seemed to go OK and loOKs ok, the taste is very nice but I am not really sure what the taste should be like.
Please could I ask for some advise, now that I have it in a pot what is the best method of storage and the best utensils to store it in, and what sort of proportions should it be split into.
I would like to make a Chicken Tikka Masala now that I have a base, could someone suggest an easy one for starters.

Many thanks for your help.
Dai

Offline Cory Ander

• Genius Curry Master
    • View Profile
Re: Hi from newbie also help needed.
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2006, 01:52 AM »
Welcome Dai :)

Ifindforu's curry base is a very good base; you can't go far wrong with it, in my opinion.  It should be only mildly spiced and taste reasonably pleasant by itself, but it won't taste much like a curry at this stage.  Remember, the curry base needs to cater for a wide range of curries, from the mildest to the hottest.  You will add more spices when you cook whichever final dish you wish to cook.