Author Topic: Garlic/Ginger Paste  (Read 10620 times)

Offline failsafe

• Senior Chef
    • View Profile
Garlic/Ginger Paste
« on: February 26, 2013, 03:59 PM »
Hi all
just joined and i'm a complete novice

i have heard of garlic & ginger paste, but i only have powder forms of these. So the qustion is: how do i make it just using what i have [i also have difficulty with any hand pressure, might be needed if talking of mortar & pestle, since i have arthritis]. Can the two powders be combined? And in what quatities? And is oil or some other substitute used to make the paste?

Sorry to all if it's long winded

Offline Peripatetic Phil

• Genius Curry Master
  • Contributing member
    • View Profile
Re: Garlic/Ginger Paste
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2013, 04:04 PM »
i have heard of garlic & ginger paste, but i only have powder forms of these. So the qustion is: how do i make it just using what i have [i also have difficulty with any hand pressure, might be needed if talking of mortar & pestle, since i have arthritis]. Can the two powders be combined? And in what quatities? And is oil or some other substitute used to make the paste?

No powders involved, failsafe : just blend fresh ginger and fresh garlic with oil using an inexpensive electric blender, or buy a ready-made jar of the same.  Welcome aboard !

** Phil.

Offline RubyDoo

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2013, 06:53 PM »
Some use oil, some use water, others use both or neither. Whatever the preference, as Phil says, blend from fresh ginger and garlic. Also there are differing opinions on what ratio to use as well. 50:50  or perhaps 60:40 in favour of either one depending on preference.

Personally I like to make up in bulk then freeze in 1 tbsp amounts in ice trays before popping out and storing in freezer bags. Defrost as I need them.  ;)

Welcome

Offline failsafe

• Senior Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2013, 05:10 PM »
Thanks Phil & RubyDoo