Author Topic: Hi all, just a quick post 'cos me curry's on  (Read 5537 times)

Offline hezzie

• Chef
    • View Profile
Hi all, just a quick post 'cos me curry's on
« on: May 15, 2013, 05:31 PM »
Wow, what a forum this is, I've searched in the past for Indian restaurant curry recipes and especially the base sauce/gravy but not found anything decent, the reason for that is where I live in is there are loads of curry houses/takeaways and most are rubbish with one or two reasonable ones but nothing outstanding.

I'm a fairly decent cook so I'm sure I can whip up a better curry than most of the curry houses in my area with all the resources on here....it's just where to start with all the info available.

Tonight I'm starting off with Curry King's Restaurant gravy & vindaloo...the only thing I've left out is 500ml of oil http://www.curry-recipes.co.uk/curry/index.php/topic,179.0.html .... A pint of oil  ....I'm 16 stone, so I can do without that.

I'll let you know how I get on.  8)

Thanks to everyone who's contributed to the forum in the past, there's loads for a newbie like me to learn and read through, much appreciated.

err, I always use a lot of smilies in forums so my comments aren't misunderstood....I hope they're not annoying.  :D

Offline spiceyokooko

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
Re: Hi all, just a quick post 'cos me curry's on
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2013, 06:26 PM »
Hi Hezzie

Be careful about leaving out the oil, it's an important component!

I'll be interested to hear how you get on without the oil in the base.

Offline hezzie

• Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2013, 06:58 PM »
Well    spiceyokooko, I can confirm it was delicious, leaving out the oil didn't seem to make any noticeable difference between my home made curry and any restaurant curry I've ever had. Although I did add roughly 3 tablespoons of oil at the vindaloo stage so maybe that made a difference.