Author Topic: Hey, over here!  (Read 6767 times)

Offline pr0tax

• Chef
    • View Profile
Hey, over here!
« on: September 20, 2013, 07:17 PM »
Hello Everyone.

Good to see a forum I think I can slip right into. By day I'm a software/computer game developer. 28, divorced but with a new girl now (hindsight!) and I love Indian food.

*Cue Long and Probably Boring Intro*

It started when I was young (14?) every Wednesday I used to go to my asian friend's house for tea and his mum used to cook and by god it was beautiful. Ever since the days I started with the pubs/clubs we went to restaurants afterwards and got into curry even more.

Since the age of about 15, always had good curry from one main takeaway here (but always like to try new things) then I got bored of some tasting completely different so I stuck with my main one. We usually eat Curry/Biryani 5-6 days a week. So I started cooking Indian food myself 4 years ago. I was completely unaware of this forum at this point!

Initially I started with the usual paste from Asda etc. but in all honesty, it was terrible and it set me quite back thinking I wouldn't attempt it again. Until one day I thought sod it, I followed a recipe online for a Lamb Biryani and I bought all the spices and what not, awesome! It came out terrible, 2nd attempt was bang on, 3rd attempt was awful, 4th attempt - terrible. Biryani took me a good 12/13 attempts until I finally mastered my own recipe based off a collection of different recipe's I had found.

After this was curry, after the pub one night I went to my fave takeaway for a curry (as you do) and I saw this huge pot he was 'dipping into' and I often wondered how they whipped up curries so fast and I said to my pal, I wonder if it's like a 'base curry' or a 'standard set of ingredients pre-cooked'. So I shot home and Googled it and would you know it yes!