Author Topic: hello everyone..!! i cant make curries... they always taste of oil...yak  (Read 2705 times)

Offline cantgetitright

• Chef
    • View Profile
Hi,

I have tried doing curries from Dillons curry secret.. they are awful!

What is going on with my base sauce?

I follow the book 100% and the curries taste of oil..??

I have tried another one tonight and am hoping by missing out the oil everything will be OK.

I used to work as a delivery driver for my local indian and have seen how they do it but cant do it at home.

I am very frustrated that i cant replicate a basic "chicken madras"!!!

please help me complete this task.

by the way.... chicken tikka is cooked in two stages... 1) cooked in the tandoor 2) fried in the big pan with onions and lemon juice and a spoonful of magic juice?

thanks

Offline laynebritton

• Indian Master Chef
  • CONTRIBUTING MEMBER
    • View Profile
As I've already stated to hotbot in another thread PLEASE DO NOT follow any recipes down to the last gram you will very rarely replicate a dish (if ever) that someone else has made just remember LOOK TASTE ADD if needed. You will find  the more you try the more observant you will become.
You could try draining /skimming off the unwanted oil and add further ingredients to this base such as Tomato puree or Pasata or you could boil + blend some more onions and add this to your oily base this will absorb the excess oil and give a better flavour.

On a brighter note the recipes on this website are far better than in the KD book and if there's anything you are not sure of ask and someone will help you.
 ;) Layne
« Last Edit: October 11, 2006, 07:23 PM by laynebritton »

Offline cantgetitright

• Chef
    • View Profile
thanks for your reply...

do you have a suggestion for the base sauce?

My favourite dish is "madras" which i believe is easily produced once you have mastered the sauce.