Author Topic: I am no longer alone!  (Read 2509 times)

Offline Hansel

• Chef
    • View Profile
I am no longer alone!
« on: October 13, 2006, 09:54 PM »
Hi Group
Just found this site yesterday and found that all you folks have been experimenting in parallel with the stuff I've been doing (in isolation) for about 15 years now.
First got interested in curry when I was a student in Bradford from 86-90. So many cheap curry houses with very distinctive styles and even an Asian hypermarket with every ingredient you can imagine (by the sackful). These days I have to get buy with a small local Asian grocer.

I have eaten many curries in many different restaurants over the years and whilst many have the same standard taste many are also very unique. The worst curry I ever had was in Bangor in north Wales and I still think the best were in Bradford. I now live near Durham and there are some fine curries to be had in Newcastle. Had a curry in Devon in the summer and have to same it was probably the blandest ever.  I think what I am tring to say is that although most restaurants have 'the taste' a minority do not so I don't think we home cooks do too bad overall.

I first bought Kris Dhillon's book in about 1991 and taking it home I was like a kid on christmas day. Disappointment of course followed but this book by outlining basic principles set me on the road to better and better curries mainly through trial and error. My next book was of course Pat Chapman's indian restaurant cookbook but again the 'holy grail' was not achieved. Some years after this '100 best balti curries followed' Still not there in terms of taste. These days I would rate my standard restaurant curry as 8 out of 10 but of course I still have to achieve 'the taste'. I haven't had a chance to work through many of the threads on the site yet but I can see that there are many tips I can put to good use.
From my own experience I would add/concur with the following: