Author Topic: Cooking Rice  (Read 2931 times)

Offline xPatx

• Chef
    • View Profile
Cooking Rice
« on: March 03, 2007, 03:27 PM »
As a trainee I love learning all the time about cooking and non more so than from members on this site.
Until I joined I'd always made just plain boring boiled rice.
After reading many posts my rice now is as follows:

Basmalti rice cooked with 6 green cardamom pods, 2 bay leaves and a teaspoon of turmeric. Cooked in a pan full of water for 5-7 mins, taken out drained and put in the fridge to cool and stop cooking. Then open cardamom pods and put the seeds back in the rice and remove bay leave.

As a trainee this works for me everytime with a lovely taste but how can I improve on this in anyway?
I have ALWAYS overcooked my rice before learing to only cook it for 5-7 mins and learnt something else new.

This is a great friendly site and hope to learn loads more in the future.
« Last Edit: March 04, 2007, 12:09 PM by xPatx »

Offline terry

• Chef
    • View Profile
Re: Cooking Rice
« Reply #1 on: March 03, 2007, 08:44 PM »
as a rough guide the water should be roughly half inch above the rice,try cooking your rice by absorption,cook your rice the way you are,once the water boils,after 1 or 2 minutes,cover the pan with bacofoil and replace the lid to get a tight seal,switch of the gas and leave, check again after 20 minutes,if not cooked just replace lid until you are happy with the end result.fork over rice and it should be nice and fluffy.

hope this helps  Terry

Offline Curry King

• I've Had Way Too Much Curry
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2007, 02:30 PM »
If you want to try something different heat a desertspoon of ghee then add the rice and coat all the grains before adding your water.  When I make mine I also chuck in 3 or 4 cloves a pinch or 2 of cumin seeds and a piece of cassia bark.

cK

Offline davidandbess

• Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2007, 03:32 PM »