Author Topic: Dhansak advice  (Read 3403 times)

Offline Mark J

• Elite Curry Master
    • View Profile
Dhansak advice
« on: April 02, 2005, 07:33 AM »
I have never tried to cook a Dhansak before as I had it in a restaurant and I didn't like it (I believe they used pineapple which I hate), however my mum had it last time we went to the restaurant and they used a wedge of lemon instead of pineapple and it was absolutely gorgeous so I'm going to have a crack tonight.

Any enough rambling and on to the point, for a Dhansak the restaurants obviously use precooked lentils, does anyone know how they might prepare these for a Dhansak?

Offline Curry King

• I've Had Way Too Much Curry
    • View Profile
Re: Dhansak advice
« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2005, 10:51 AM »
Dhansak is one of the ones everytime I make it I think its got the dhansak taste, to me its a weird charcole\burnt taste really earthy.  I have one from the takeaway though and its always better than my last attempt, ive not had it with pinapple though but then again its not one I have that often.

For the lentils I just wash them and boil them, I usualy cook up a big packet and freeze them in batches.

I might have to make a dhansk tonight now instead of my usual  ;D

Offline Mark J

• Elite Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2005, 11:06 AM »
Ive wheeled out all the old favourite texts (Dhillons, Chapman etc) and they seem to make up a Tarka Dhal and then use some of that in the curry? Wonder if the restaurants do that or if they just pre cook the lentils with a bit a salt and turmeric

Offline Curry King

• View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 02, 2005, 11:54 AM »
Ive cooked it with the whole spices and just plain boiled and Ive not really noticed a difference.  As for how the restaurants do it im not sure has anyone else got any ideas?  It maybe what the missing taste is in my dhansak?  ???

Offline Mark J

• Elite Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 02, 2005, 05:34 PM »