Author Topic: How do I make "fat free" curries?  (Read 8198 times)

Offline Argonaut

• Chef
    • View Profile
How do I make "fat free" curries?
« on: April 17, 2008, 08:44 PM »
I have been eating currys for 40 years, I think I was brought up on Bhuna & Rohgan Josh

Really adore rich flavorsome dishes, I don't need it to take the roof off my mouth .. but it must be anything but bland.

However I would also like to eat healthy curry as well ... does anybody have any Fat Free (or low fat) curry recipes ... I saw a short snippet of a TV programme recently (called something like 'breaking into Tesco's ) .. and a lady had a Fat free range of currys, which wowed the judges.

Anybody ant recipes ?
« Last Edit: October 04, 2009, 10:34 AM by Cory Ander »

Offline hidden

• Chef
    • View Profile
Re: Fat Free Currys
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2008, 03:43 AM »
I have to agree with you on this one a nice fat free curry with all the flavours, aromas and tastes of any other curry.

Here are a few things you may consider.

Use very little oil for frying onions to start a curry off. Add splashes of water to stop food from burning. Nver add extra oil once you've started as it'll be cold and absorbed by the food.

Use yoghurt rather than cream. Use lean meat for making curry, well trimmed with as little fat on as possible.

Have plain boiled rice rather than pilau or naan bread.

Have a portion of vegetable or dhall curry. Avoid any oil floating on the surface. At home you might find it wasy to remove oil on surface of the cooking curry.

If you do go out for a curry avoid alcohol, try and have some salad.

Don't have popadoms or chutneys as they're full of calories!

Try soupy dhals made with different types of lentils and onions and spices.

Offline adriandavidb

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2008, 12:57 PM »
What's alcohol got to do with the fat/oil content of curry???

Offline Chris303

• Head Chef
    • View Profile