Author Topic: BIR missing taste its all to do with OLD OIL  (Read 12177 times)

Offline artistpaul

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
BIR missing taste its all to do with OLD OIL
« on: October 06, 2009, 09:29 PM »
Following on from a post a few months ago by Haldi regarding his use of old oil, here are my observations

Hi Haldi

A perfect post

( I posted something similiar a while ago but it seemed not to click with members? )

AND its something Ive been doing for many months now too, even before I read your post.

Im living in Turkey now but have been cooking Indian and Asian food for years

I ALWAYS make my base from 50% Old oil & 50% new

I get mine from a Fried Chicken fast takeaway joint here, just when its getting nice and dark in colour, just before they get rid of it

Exactly like you do.

Ive no problem getting BIR taste now EVERY time

And to answer  this question or comment I see from other members re your original  post '' Im sure Indian Restaurants dont go around Chicken Takeaways etc scavenging waste / old oil '' the answer is easy - they dont have to,
All Indian restaurants have a deep fat frier for doing Bhagies, poppadoms etc = this is their source of old oil

Members cannot replicate this oil at home as its the sheer volume of cooking that does the trick.
Dont believe me? Try cooking fresh oil for long enough yourself  with enough food items in a batch of oil & see if you can get it to turn almost black. I dont think so. It will have turned rancid from age before that happens.

Old restaurant oil is relatively young and thus fresh, its the volume of cooking that does the business to the oil.

Just try it and you will see.

Just dont take  or use old oil that has had fish cooked in it aswell, that WONT work

Smell it, if its savoury and turned almost black, its perfect

Dont be skeptical, first try it, then report back!

Offline chriswg

• Curry Spice Master
    • View Profile
Re: BIR missing taste its all to do with OLD OIL