Author Topic: best curry base on the site / "the curry house" base  (Read 6441 times)

Offline fourmations

• Chef
    • View Profile
best curry base on the site / "the curry house" base
« on: July 21, 2005, 11:46 AM »
hi all

Im a noob

What in general opinion is the best base here?

Has anyone used the one off thecurryhouse.co.uk
any thoughts? - its the only one i've used

regards

Offline Curry King

• I've Had Way Too Much Curry
    • View Profile
Re: best curry base on the site / "the curry house" base
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2005, 12:25 PM »
Hi,

There are 3 or 4 bases on here that are all worth trying, I don't think there's a "best one" as such.

Heres a few:

http://www.curry-recipes.co.uk/curry/index.php?topic=279.0

http://www.curry-recipes.co.uk/curry/index.php?topic=3.0

http://www.curry-recipes.co.uk/curry/index.php?topic=179.0

Try a couple and see which one you have more success with.

Offline steve e

• Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2005, 08:18 AM »
Bruceys,
Here goes, made a bruce Edwards base sauce left to stand over night,while that was going on
marinated four fresh chicken breasts cut into strips lengthways in Pasco mild tikka paste(excellent
trust me).
Ok here goes chicken tikka masala,
heated 2 tbs oil high heat
added 2 tbs garlic puree fry 30 sec
added2 tsp tomato puree fry 30 sec
added 1 tsp curry powder mild
added 1 3/4 tsp turmeric
added 1 1/4 tsp cumin
added 2 tsp coriander
added 1tsp salt
added1/2 tsp fenugreek leaf
added 1/2 tsp chili powder (heat for all the family)
red food colouring( I know, but if its not THAT colour they won`t eat it)
all above in the pan at same time fry for a futher 30-40 secs
add 1 ladle of base sauce evaporate off
add 1 futher ladle bring to simmer

meanwhile oven on highest temp chicken in baking tray in foil covered cook for 15 mins uncover for last 5-10 mins cut into small pieces save oil in foil to add to curry sauce,(taste the chicken tikka mmmmm).

ok back to sauce
1 ladle of base sauce