Author Topic: Help me! My korma tastes acidic/sour.  (Read 28913 times)

Offline sultry

• Chef
    • View Profile
Help me! My korma tastes acidic/sour.
« on: August 03, 2005, 03:04 AM »
Can someone please tell why my kormas taste sour/acidic. I DON'T use yogurt in the korma so its obviously not that. Its something to do with the coconut milk, because a couple of minutes after i pour it in (whilst no cream has been added) it tastes as described.

Is it the coconut milk curdling? How can it curdle when i add it quite slowly-on a low heat? How long do i have to stir the coconut milk till i can safely stop? Can certain pan materials have this type of affect on such a subtle dish?

Would love to hear from the pro's, as I'm quite new to the world of making curries.

Thanks.

Offline DARTHPHALL

• Elite Curry Master
  • CONTRIBUTING MEMBER
    • View Profile
Re: Help me! My korma tastes acidic/sour.
« Reply #1 on: August 03, 2005, 11:37 AM »
Sour/Acid is strange, can you post the recipe?
Might be a combination of some of the ingredients reacting or are you cooking in a very old pan ?.(does it glow in the dark  ? ;D)
There are some very good recipes on this site, have a good look you will find many Korma variations & judging by my experience of this sites recipes, i`m sure all will turn out a good meal.

DARTHPHALL.............. 8)

Offline Yousef

• Elite Curry Master
  • Curry Recipes Site Owner
  • Administrator
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2005, 11:39 AM »
Cant you use creamed coconut block instead of coconut milk?

Offline Blondie

• Head Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 03, 2005, 12:03 PM »
Hi Sultry,

I agree with Admin,  Coconut block is a better option IMO.

Cheers Sultry,

Blondie

Offline sultry

• Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 03, 2005, 01:02 PM »
OK, so coconut block is better, but this doesent necessarily mean that all coconut creams should taste funny.