Author Topic: More info on the Kushi Balti book.  (Read 12864 times)

Offline Yellow Fingers

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
More info on the Kushi Balti book.
« on: October 03, 2005, 11:25 AM »
I was just looking at the sample pages for the new book and I think we're not going to get any new methods or 'secrets' from it judging by this. Although the unknown factor, at least at this stage, is the Kushi spice mix which might make a difference but I doubt it. I think it's likely to be one of the best books for total beginners to the hobby though.

These are the pages, they are a bit lo-res but you can get the idea from them.

The originals are here http://www.kushibalti.co.uk/about.htm

Offline George

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
Re: More info on the Kushi Balti book.
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2005, 03:36 PM »
Sadly, my expectations for this new book are quite low, only because all the books, videos and eBay offerings which have gone before have failed in producing the BIR taste, whilst promising just that in the preamble and pre-purchase publicity. If they said it was impossible to produce the BIR taste at home, and explained why, but "here are some recipes for a poor second best", then I might be more accepting.

The gap in expectations with any of these books can be one of only two things - either (a) they deliberately hold back certain ingredients or techniques or (b) techniques like final tasting really are vital and nobody here has ever succeeded.   I still vote for (a).

My acid test (as mentioned before) is now whether a bag of home made curries in sealed foiled containers and a plastic carrier bag would smell as strong and delicious outdoors as the take-away delivered to my neighbour a few months back. I only knew somebody was walking towards their house, when the smell hit me. This can't be anything too subtle, to smell so strong.