Author Topic: A complete novice.  (Read 5070 times)

Offline joffy

• Junior Chef
    • View Profile
A complete novice.
« on: November 07, 2010, 07:30 PM »
Hi all. I've always gone for the quick n easy option of buying a jar of Pataks or Sharwoods sauce but read on another general discussion forum that these jars are considered crap!

I then found a jar of Mumtaz Tikka sauce which came highly recommended as takeaway style tikka and it was very nice, but no longer available in Tescos. You can buy it online but they charge ?6.95 for delivery!

So I looked into home-made curries and found "Kitchen Guru" products that supplies all the spices needed and a recipe to follow. It was quite nice, but quite dry. I liked all the sauce you get with the jars to dip naan into  :D

So now I've found this great forum but I'm overwhelmed with all the recipes.

So basically, which base recipes would you recommend to a novice? I plan on getting the spices from natco-online and any other ingredients will have be avaialble from Tescos etc.

Any guidance would be appreciated  :)

Offline gazman1976

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
Re: A complete novice.
« Reply #1 on: November 07, 2010, 08:02 PM »
Welcome to the site - i would start with razors or the sns 2008 base as both are very easily to make and both make lovely curries - enjoy

Offline Domi

• Curry Spice Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 07, 2010, 08:19 PM »
Another vote for Razor's base here! Welcome aboard joffy ;D

Offline George

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 07, 2010, 08:50 PM »

Offline joffy

• Junior Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: November 07, 2010, 09:09 PM »
Thanks for the replies.
Like the look of Razors recipe.

But regarding the methi powder...
www.natco-online.com has Fenugreek (Methi) Leaves 100g jar & Fenugreek (Methi) Seeds 100g jar.

Which should I buy?

Offline Razor

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: November 07, 2010, 09:17 PM »