Author Topic: Less work, same or better results: washing rice, pre-cooked chicken, Bombay Aloo  (Read 7469 times)

Offline Peripatetic Phil

• Genius Curry Master
  • Contributing member
    • View Profile
Apologies for lumping together various ideas concerning four separate dishes, but none seemed worthy of a new thread in its own right. 

Over the last few days, I have been experimenting with the idea that some of our preconceptions may be worth re-visiting : in particular, the need to thoroughly wash Basmati rice, the need to pre-cook chicken, and the need for two different base/spice mixes for making Bombay Aloo.  There is no suggestion on my part that any of these ideas are new : the first, for example, has been challenged by Dave Loyden in his book Undercover Curry, and the second, quite recently, by Ramirez & by Natterjack in the thread entitled "Hi -- Newbie here !!". 

Nonetheless, I was less than convinced that I could achieve results comparable to those I have come to expect if I were to omit what I have, until now, regarded as vital steps, but I am delighted to be able to report that I have now prepared four simplified versions of some of my standard dishes (Pilau rice, Chicken Madras, Bombay Aloo and Chinese-style fried rice), all with equal success and all to at least the standard that I had been previously achieving with more work.

For the Pilau rice, I softened some dried sliced garlic in hot-but-not-very-hot ghee, then added the dry, unwashed, Basmati rice and various whole spices and bhooned gently until the rice started to take on a more opaque appearance; I then added boiling water and salt, brought the whole lot to the boil, transferred everything to a round Pyrex casserole dish (with lid), and then put it in the microwave oven where I finished it off in my normal way (about 12 mins at full power, and then as long as necessary/desired at 20%).