Author Topic: New here, looking forward to contributing!  (Read 10337 times)

Offline spiceyokooko

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
New here, looking forward to contributing!
« on: November 02, 2011, 05:43 PM »
Hey folks

New here and thought I'd introduce myself.

I've 'browsed' a few of the threads at random and was impressed by what I read, so I thought I'd join and learn some new techniques and skills and who knows perhaps even pass some on as well I'm not really a beginner at this, I've been at it for some time.

My love of Indian food started 30 years ago at the 'Star of India' in Brompton Road, run at the time by the TV Chef Reza Mahammad's parents before Reza finally took it over when they retired and turned it into a fancy dancy up market restaurant. I've been eating and cooking (well trying to cook!) Indian food ever since and like I'm sure many of the contributors here trying to get that Indian Restaurant taste and often getting close but never really achieving 'Curry Nirvana'!

I was fascinated to read some of the theories as to what that missing 'x' was, as over the years I've developed my own theories as to what it might be and I don't think my thinking is far off what many here think it is.

I've done the Pat Chapman 'Indian Restaurant Curry Book' many years ago and was pretty disappointed with the results it produced and have subsequently collected many Indian cookbooks over the years I almost have a library of them now!