Author Topic: Hello fellow curryholics  (Read 2744 times)

Offline bhuna-boy

• Chef
    • View Profile
Hello fellow curryholics
« on: January 10, 2006, 09:08 PM »
Hi,
Firstly it is important to say 'What a great site you have developed' and 'Well done to all who have made it possible'. I came across you whilst searching the net for something about 'Pillau Rice and what a find. I've been experimenting for 30 years+, bought my first cast iron Karahi in Leicester when I was a student and still use it almost weekly. Don't be fooled by the Bhuna -Boy name I'm 50
I've tried most things. Roasted and ground spices to make various massalas and pastes. Stopped that and moved onto commercial pastes. Tried every ready sauce they sell in the supermarkets(incidentally to my taste Pataks are the best). Discovered Pat Chapman books quite a few years ago and tried his base with various successes AND THEN! found Khris Dhillon and the fantastic recipes on here. What a revelation. The Dhansak and Jalfrezi recipes are the closest I've ever got to the BIR taste you are all seeking,
A couple of observations on that point:
Several of you are talking about reclaiming oil for 'the taste'. I am not convinced by this. My local take away do not fry the base at any stage . They use a sack of onions in a large pan+carrot and 'spices' and boil/simmer until the onions disintegrate.They then use a drill with a blade attachment to blend it This is kept hot all evening. What they do not sell is added to and boiled the next day. I think this length of cooking/keeping hot is a key factor. I have never seen them reclaim oil at the final cooking stage which they do almost in front of you as you wait. We never do this at home do we. We cook what we want to eat. The saying that a good chef never lets the curry pot get empty is about right.