Author Topic: G'day Poms  (Read 4496 times)

Offline Aussie Mick

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
G'day Poms
« on: February 28, 2012, 02:26 PM »
Hello everyone from sunny Australia.

Although I have chosen Aussie Mick as a username, I am originally from Manchester. I've been "down under" since 1996.

When we first arrived, the standard of restaurant curries was, abysmal......and believe me, that is being kind. It has improved over the years, but after a visit back "home" last year, I realised they still have a long way to go here.

I have been cooking curries at home for about 25 years. I originally followed the Pat Chapman books, but graduated to making base sauces.

Looking forward to learning more from this site. :)

Offline PaulP

• Elite Curry Master
    • View Profile
Re: G'day Poms
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2012, 03:23 PM »
Hi Aussie Mick,

Welcome to the forum. You've come to the right place if you want to learn to cook BIR (British Indian Restaurant) curries and side dishes etc.

You are not the only person living "down under" on this site.

Cheers,

Paul

Offline Aussie Mick

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 28, 2012, 03:47 PM »
Cheers for the welcome Paul.

I've spent an hour or so, perusing the site, and I've already picked up some great tips.

Think I'll stick around. Bedtime here in Oz now, but when I get the chance, i will share some of my worthwhile recipes for all to try.  :)

Offline Razor

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 28, 2012, 05:07 PM »
Hi Mick, from one Manc to another, welcome to cr0 mate.

Ray :)

Offline curryhell

• Jedi Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: February 28, 2012, 05:12 PM »
Welcome.  Look forward to seeing some of your recipes real soon ;D

Offline Aussie Mick

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: March 01, 2012, 03:33 PM »
Thanks fellas for the welcomes.