Author Topic: Restaurant Vindaloo 1980's style  (Read 7452 times)

Offline NE5

• Junior Chef
    • View Profile
Restaurant Vindaloo 1980's style
« on: May 03, 2012, 10:01 AM »
hello, I'm new to here and I see lots of recipes for restaurant style curries.

I have been cooking curries for many years, and used to subscribe to Pat Chapmans curry club, searching for the elusive 1980's style restaurant vindaloo.

I'll look through all the recipes in time, but I have never been able to find this recipe. Most curries now seem to be basic curries with added chilli, but the flavour from 20+ years ago was a thin hot and sour sauce, not so "tomato" based as it seems to be now.

Offline ifindforu

• Indian Master Chef
    • View Profile
Re: Restaurant Vindaloo 1980's style
« Reply #1 on: May 03, 2012, 10:21 AM »
hello, I'm new to here and I see lots of recipes for restaurant style curries.

I have been cooking curries for many years, and used to subscribe to Pat Chapmans curry club, searching for the elusive 1980's style restaurant vindaloo.

I'll look through all the recipes in time, but I have never been able to find this recipe. Most curries now seem to be basic curries with added chilli, but the flavour from 20+ years ago was a thin hot and sour sauce, not so "tomato" based as it seems to be now.
probably when they use to boil old chickens,boil them to death. As they were old and tough that how when you asked for a chicken portion it was a long like leg different from todays chicken breasts all the best in your search PS the sour is lemon or maybe use to use a little vinegar  vind = vinegar aloo =potato

Offline Cory Ander

• Genius Curry Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 03, 2012, 10:40 AM »
As I understand it, Terry, "vin" = wine and "aloo" = garlic (from the dish's Portugese origins).

And "vinegar" and, particularly, "potato" are misinterpretations of the original meaning of the dish.

Offline Les

• I've Had Way Too Much Curry
    • View Profile