Author Topic: Sorry if this is another silly question about base gravy  (Read 6776 times)

Offline Aussie Mick

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
G'day folks

I wanted to try a different base gravy yesterday and thought I would try the Taz base after reading so many good things. I was tempted to add some coriander or carrot, but I followed the recipe to the letter so I could compare.  Now, i am still a realtive newbie to BIR and I was delighted with the visual result.

I have done a few CA and Chewy bases and they have all produced excellent results in the final curry dish.

But, I have never manged to get a good oil separation, only froth.

On the taz base, I got literally gallons (or so it seemed lol) of oil on the top of the sauce. It was a sight to behold. I forgot to take a picture in my excitement, but please believe me, there was LOADS of oil floating on the top of the gurabi.

Seeing as this was the first time that this has occured, i was unsure what to do with it. Should I spoon off the oil, or should I stir it back in and keep it in the sauce (I did the latter before splitting it up and freezing)

Thankf folks  8)

I had a quick "snack" of bhuna, before I foze it and it tasted very, very nice. ;D

Online mickdabass

• Spice Master Chef
    • View Profile
Re: Sorry if this is another silly question about base gravy
« Reply #1 on: May 17, 2012, 04:54 PM »
G'day Mick
I use a stick blender to mix it back in thoroughly and then it is evenly distributed amongst all your portions.
Hope this helps
Mick

Offline solarsplace

• Curry Spice Master
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 17, 2012, 04:56 PM »
Hi Mick